this is it folks!


I woke up at 4 this morning.

There’s a move in yoga I learnt the other day.  It’s called the “stomach churner”.  As you exhale you fold your body in-half.  When you uncurl, back to standing, you act as if you’re breathing in, without inhaling any air and it creates a vacuum.  Your stomach caves in and presses against your spine.  Whilst holding your breath you contract your stomach, and your aim is to rotate the muscles from side to side, and when done properly actually looks like a stick in your stomach is churning your insides.  That’s how I’m feeling right now.

My plan for today is to rest and eat a lot…and get to London at a leisurely pace.  That’s easier said than done.  I’m jittery and nervous, can’t keep my food down, and have taken my neurotic fears of pending illness and dormant injuries to a whole new level.

“Enjoy the day!”  I’m sure I will – once I get there.  This countdown is flipping killing me.  In EXACTLY 24 hours I will be standing amidst thousands waiting to start.

I-pod is syncing the soundtrack for the big day.  A bit of reggae, a bit of hippy stuff, 80’s classics, peaking with Eye of the Tiger and then lulling back to a bit of ragga.  Then about 4 hours in it descends into thumping drum and bass.  When that beat starts I know I’ll be nearing the end.

Right people.  This is it!

Good luck to all the runners out there!  Supporters, whether you’ll be there in person or spirit – THANK YOU!  Am absolutely positive that it will be you guys that get us through the lows – and hopefully be there for the highs too…when we all cross that line, one by one and can finally, at long last….CELEBRATE!

LAURA xxxxxxxx

Leave a comment